Back to The Lounge

Art!

Jump to newest

By (user no longer on site) OP   
over a year ago

Afternoon fabbers!

A question my eldest child asked when we were at the Tate Modern

What’s the point of art?

I’m quite frankly I’m stumped, there’s messages a reflection on modern life but anyone have a definitive answer? Or even an idea?

Ta muchly

Reply privatelyReply in forumReply +quote

By (user no longer on site)
over a year ago

Dec

By *alandNitaCouple
over a year ago

Scunthorpe

I'm not sure that there is a "Point" to art, it's just an outlet for some people's imagination. If others find it interesting in any way, then that is a bonus.

I know from personal experience, as a musician I play for my own individual enjoyment and don't really care whether the audience is enjoying it or not. They generally will enjoy it, but I'm doing it for me and not them.

Cal

over a year ago

It's a medium through which people people express themselves is what I would say.

over a year ago

"Afternoon fabbers!

What’s the point of art?

I’m quite frankly I’m stumped, there’s messages a reflection on modern life but anyone have a definitive answer? Or even an idea?

Ta muchly"

Oh my god! Why can't you answer this?

To me, art defines culture. What else tells you about a place? The songs, dances, clothing, drawings, tattoos etc are all forms of artistic self expression. Every time you switch on the tv if it is something that is scripted or expressive you are watching art. Every song you have ever listened to is art. If there was no art we would live in a grey expressionless zombieland… Can you tell I'm an artist?

over a year ago

"I'm not sure that there is a "Point" to art, it's just an outlet for some people's imagination. If others find it interesting in any way, then that is a bonus.