Already registered?
Login here

Back to forum list
Back to The Lounge

CCTV

Jump to newest

By (user no longer on site) OP   
over a year ago

now i'm looking for a bit of advice, i work in a large car dealership which is split over several sites. the workshop i'm in houses all the keys etc for new cars, and the company has just updated all of its security camera's. along side this they have had 1 fitted in our workshop, which rotates and zooms etc, so it can look at the different entrances/exits to the workshop.

my query is this if anyone can help, can the company legally use this camera to monitor what the staff are upto? already one manager has used it for this purpose and rang one of the lads to ask why he and a few others were standing around chatting when there was work to be done!!

i personally dont think this is right, but i'm no expert and wondered if anyone could shed any light on it for me!

Reply privatelyReply in forumReply +quote

By (user no longer on site)
over a year ago

i did work once for a shop they used cctv we had no complaints

By (user no longer on site) OP   
over a year ago

"i did work once for a shop they used cctv we had no complaints "

see i get it being used in shops, but not sure on the need for it in the workshop, esp with it being used to monitor who's workin/skivin etc!

By *empnbunkCouple
over a year ago

south coast

in a word ...yes they can cctv is used in alot of work places for security which also doubles as the bosses spy cams....lol

By *etillanteWoman
over a year ago

But they are being paid to work, not skive

over a year ago

if you were doing what your paid to do and don't doubt your doing anything wrong then you should have nothing to worry about.

By *herry n JonesyCouple
over a year ago

Oxfordshire / Leicester

It is commonplace in retail to stop theft - cctv cameras monitoring all till transactions. Its protecting the business.

Not something that can be complained about in my book.

By *lthomasMan