Already registered?
Login here

Back to forum list
Back to The Lounge

Dog breeds for children?

Jump to newest

By (user no longer on site) OP   
over a year ago

Hi I thought I’d ask some people on here first instead of making an account to post on a dog website forum or something lol!

Just wandered if anyone has any suggestions on breeds that are good with kids? we don’t want a Labrador size dog and don’t want a little dog maybe something in between? And one that wouldnt require a field for a back garden!? Haha Thanks In advance :D

Reply privatelyReply in forumReply +quote

over a year ago

And would like to have a intelligent breed of dog ?? :D

By (user no longer on site)
over a year ago

I am not an expert but a springer spaniel would do

By *izzy RascallMan
over a year ago

Cardiff

Staffordshire Pitbull Terrier.

One of few breeds recommended to have with kids.

Don't be put off by the bad press.

Have a Google about the history of the breed, they used to be called 'The Nursery Dog'.

over a year ago

Springer spaniel my cousin had one and was nuts good with kids but I feel need a massive back yard to keep them happy thanks anyway and I don’t like staffys at all not about the press just think aren’t nice looking dogs :D

By *electableDalliancesCouple
over a year ago

leeds

What sort of walk time will you be able to spare a day ? As that's a massive deciding factor

over a year ago

The dog I got (jack russel crossed with a poodle) adores being around kids. Really playful yet very gentle. But at the end of the day, it depends on the dog. You could get a spaniel who despises kids but then a staffie or a rottweiler that loves them

over a year ago

Also need to think how big is their poo as it can be a lot of pick

over a year ago