Login here

Back to forum list
Back to The Lounge

A few words of warning.

Jump to newest

By *eziah OP   Woman
over a year ago

Hull

As a photographer, I have noticed several forum posts whereby people ask for/are offered photo shoots by self-confessed 'professional', semi-professional or competent amateur photographers. I have also seen this service offered on profiles, and have had the offer made to myself directly.

Often, the photographer states that all images will be transferred/given to the subject(s) on completion of the shoot, and then deleted in front of them. Also there is often reference to a portfolio that can be shared prior, to enable the subject(s) to peruse that artists work.

Now, whilst I don't doubt that some of these offers are genuine and above-board (in fact I know that they are, I have a friend here of high integrity and photographic ability that is happy to arrange boudoir and such shoots), I just feel the need to say a few things for the less camera-savvy amongst you who are considering this as a means of obtaining new images. Firstly, a couple of things regarding the images being transferred and immediately deleted:

1) Some cameras have dual card slots. That's to say that images can be written to two memory cards at once. So, you can seemingly see the images be deleted, in camera or on a device such as a laptop, or provide your own card to take away with you (seems failsafe!), whilst a duplicate set remains with the photographer.

2) Many cameras have WIFI ability. So the files can be transferred to a nearby device such as a phone, tablet or laptop simply at the press of a few innocuous buttons.