Already registered?
Login here

Back to forum list
Back to The Lounge

Goodbye to mood lighting

Jump to newest

By (user no longer on site) OP   
over a year ago

As most will know as from last month, shops were suppose to stop selling the good old fashioned light bulb and only sell the new low energy bulbs but did you know that if you have dimmer switches in your home these bulbs are not compatible with them, now before you panic, they are making low energy dimmable light bulbs, the only problem is the are between £7 and £9 EACH!

Reply privatelyReply in forumReply +quote

By *ittle_brat_evie!!Woman
over a year ago

evesham

i'll be alright - i found the national stock of lightbulbs in the cupboard under my dads stairs when i was looking for the stopcock the other week

By *icksfocusMan
over a year ago

Pontefract

i am an electrician and quite busy at moment putting downlighters in as theses are dimable. Mail me if you need any work doing

By *icksfocusMan
over a year ago

Pontefract

Also you can not throw low energy light bulbs in the bin when they blow. You have to take them to council tip as they contain carcinogens

By *umpkinMan
over a year ago

near the sounds of the wimborne quarter jack!

"Also you can not throw low energy light bulbs in the bin when they blow. You have to take them to council tip as they contain carcinogens"

If only we realised this years ago when we were blissfully breaking up flurescent tubes to go into the dustbin when they`re made in virtually the same way. I believe the carcinogen could be mercury?

over a year ago

"i am an electrician and quite busy at moment putting downlights in as theses are dimable. Mail me if you need any work doing"

Unfortunately I have just moved into a rented flat and am not allowed to change any of the light fittings or switches

By *irtyGirlWoman
over a year ago

Edinburgh

I will never buy those energy saving bulbs. They're shit.

over a year ago