By *lshere77 OP   Man
over a year ago

Wigan

Competent or a hazard?

Reply privatelyReply in forumReply +quote

By *oward1978Man
over a year ago

Rotherham

Some are great. Some are shite. Just like male drivers.

By (user no longer on site)
over a year ago

Most drivers are a hazard, usually far more than they realise. Gender is irrelevant

By *londeCazWoman
over a year ago

Arse End of the Universe, Cumbria

I'm steering with my knees at 90 mph on the M6, applying lippy and perving Fab...of course I'm a competent driver

By *lshere77 OP   Man
over a year ago

Wigan

You can reverse park on me anytime

over a year ago

Gender of driver

Although women are often branded as bad drivers, statistically women are involved in less car accidents than men. For example, in 1995 there were 1.8 million female car accidents per million miles compared to 2.9 million male car accidents per million miles.

Medical research points towards hormones as a major influence on our attitudes and skills while driving. It is thought that testosterone encourages male drivers to drive more aggressively and competitively, thus, causing more serious car accidents.

Men are also believed to partake in more risk taking behaviour than women drivers. This is backed up by statistics published by Phillips 2007 Atlases stating that men account for 80% of speeding fines in the UK. Research carried out by road safety charity Brake has revealed some more reckless driving habits carried out by men:

44% of men have used a mobile phone while driving compared to just 30% of women.

20% of men have fallen asleep at the wheel compared to just 6% of women.

22% of men revealed they would drive at 7am following a heavy night drinking compared to just 11% of women.

In addition, 93% of convicted drink drivers in 2003 were male. Men are also three times as likely as women to be involved in a fatal car accident. Read more about driver impairment.