Already registered?
Login here

Back to forum list
Back to The Lounge

Glucoma

Jump to newest

By (user no longer on site) OP   
over a year ago

Had my eyes tested this evening and was told I have glaucoma in one eye. It's felt a bit odd for a while but I just thought it was irritated by makeup.

Not feeling great about this now.

Reply privatelyReply in forumReply +quote

By *icketysplitsWoman
over a year ago

Way over Yonder, that's where I'm bound

Sorry to hear that but it is treatable and has been found. Don't delay on treatment.

over a year ago

Apparently I'm being referred as urgent.

By (user no longer on site)
over a year ago

Good that it has been diagnosed and you can now get it treated.

over a year ago

I think they give you eye drops for that,slows the process down....

over a year ago

My pressure is pretty high but they said they might sort it with drops or perhaps. Hole in my eye under my lid. That scares the crap out of me. I'm not good with eyes.

over a year ago

"My pressure is pretty high but they said they might sort it with drops or perhaps. Hole in my eye under my lid. That scares the crap out of me. I'm not good with eyes. "

My father has had drops foe years and has managed fine, while it is scary I hope that the experts can put you at ease.

By *inkxRabbitWoman
over a year ago

Wok-ish Horsell temporarily

If your optician diagnosed it don't worry too much. The pressure readings mean very little in their own.

The thickness of your cornea will be measured at the eye clinic, together with a closer (dilated pupil) examination of the back of your eye. They look at the shape and size of the optic nerve where it enters the back of the eye.

Only if your cornea is thin, your optic disc flattened and the fluid pressures within your eyes are high will you have a diagnosis of glaucoma.