Already registered?
Login here

Back to forum list
Back to The Lounge

Sexual Selection

Jump to newest

By (user no longer on site) OP   
over a year ago

As a psychologist I am very interested in human behaviour, and after one week of joining this site I have noticed something quite interesting. There is a theory in evolutionary psychology called 'sexual selection' in which it is has been found that in most species the male does the competing and the female does the choosing (e.g male peacocks are brightly coloured to attract the female) This is evident in all walks of life but also on here too. Having compared female and male profiles there is one pattern that continuously emerges...the females list very clearly what they are looking for e.g 'only tall men, must be clean shaven, must be between 35-50 etc etc. It is almost like the male has to qualify himself to the female.The male profiles on the other hand advertise what they have e.g well endowed, tall. They are competing with one another for the female.

I remember seeing one poor females status which said 'only joined this site 30 minutes ago and already have over 60 messages'. Just very amusing to consider just how much competing the male has to do and how the woman gets to choose. I highly doubt in the space of 30 minutes a male would get anywhere near 60 messages, they would be lucky to get 6.

This is not a moan by the way, just a mere observation and one that, due to my profession I am interested in. I wont bore you with the evolutionary reasons behind this behaviour as I am sure you are all fed up with this long message as it is! (would be more than happy to though if people are actually interested)

I wish all you males out there the best of luck in competing and the females good luck in their choosing!

happy swinging

Reply privatelyReply in forumReply +quote

By *rightonsteveMan
over a year ago

Brighton - even Hove!

You haven't seen my profile.

By (user no longer on site)
over a year ago