Already registered?
Login here

Back to forum list
Back to The Lounge

Any office politic savy people ?

Jump to newest

By (user no longer on site) OP   
over a year ago

Ok, firstly my background isn't in office work and getting on eith others in the office. I was in lorry driving snd warehouse work but due to age andvold injuries , now in the office.

Everything is ok except for a trsinee manager in her twenties.

In a nutshell she usually talks to mevin w condecending manner, mixed with fledgling phrases learnt from her manegerial course., Luckily shes not directly involved in my work.

Ive bee there 6 months and caught her standing and staring at me intensly, and not in a good way .

I know she's had a had an abusive childhood from comments ive heard from her so possibly leeching into her adulthod.

I don't take her attitude towards me as personal, though find it hard to acknowledge her ehen starting work invrhe morning...

Not wanting to escalate things furthrr i Keep out of her way eith minimal comtact snd dont want to mention anything to my own supervisor..

Is thst the best move on my part so far? Any officevpolitic ssvvy people hwve any thoughts?

Reply privatelyReply in forumReply +quote

By *rHotNottsMan
over a year ago

Dubai & Nottingham

No the best move is talk to her , understand the issue and resolve it.

But it’s going to be really hard, takes a lot of courage and strategic thinking & sounds like you are both too insecure and in defensive mode for it to work.

Maybe just try being nice to her instead and see if she changes, make her a coffee and ask her if she’s okay. Or just ignore it, if she’s really trouble, even offices have the odd cunt , you don’t have to like everyone, but don’t make things worse whatever you do

By *omRachCouple
over a year ago

Wirral