Anyone else

Jump to newest

By (user no longer on site) OP   
over a year ago

get emotional when leaving a job? No? Just me then

Reply privatelyReply in forumReply +quote

By (user no longer on site)
over a year ago

With every change - even a positive one - there comes a loss. So it’s perfectly natural that you should feel emotion over that.

Congrats and good luck!

over a year ago

With some jobs...you spend more time around each other than your family.

So it's bound to make you emotional if you have a good bond with your workmates.

By *hunky GentMan
over a year ago

Maldon and Peterborough

I'm a contractor (office based) and can still get a bit emotional at the end of a contract.

over a year ago

I’ve only ever been self employed so I’ve never had the experience of leaving a ‘job’ so to speak.

over a year ago

"With some jobs...you spend more time around each other than your family.

So it's bound to make you emotional if you have a good bond with your workmates."

Very true! I love my colleagues, I work in the charity sector and they’re all fantastic, my manager is now one of my closest friends

over a year ago

Yes but I was angry more than anything else. I was in a solicitors for nearly 7 years and then a accountant came in as a new C.O.O. and decided to get rid of 20 of us. I was furious how I was treated x

By *o new WinksMan
over a year ago

BSE

Not really. I compartmentalise my life.

I had great friends at Uni...never spoke to again.

I transferred 3 times after working for yrs in diff places. Never felt anything or kept in touch.

Pragmatism tells me my life is full and I don't have time for history.

I do, however,work in an environment that doesn't really foster closeness or loyalty, so that may be a factor.

By *hesblokeMan
over a year ago

Derbyshire village

Yeah a little - changed jobs a month or so ago after 14 years, and it was weird and kinda sad. Got a card and a bottle, which was nice, and there were a few heartfelt words.