Already registered?
Login here

Back to forum list
Back to The Lounge

Thinking of taking up running

Jump to newest

By (user no longer on site) OP   
over a year ago

So, I can’t run the length of myself I refuse even to run for a bus. But I’ve lost weight recently, and sometimes I get this wee springy feeling in my feet and I just want to GO.

I think it would be good for fitness, weight, mental well-being. But I don’t know how to start and I’m not even sure what to wear. A decent sports bra will be essential, that’s for sure

Obviously I’ll need to build up gradually, as I literally haven’t run anywhere since childhood. But my New Year’s resolution is to do this!

I’ve always had a slightly obsessive personality. But Jaysus, for once in my life I might as well get hooked on something healthy and productive

Any tips for this total novice? Despite the weight loss, my body resembles a melted candle in places and I really wanna tone up, so will running help with this? Or do I also need a more targeted form of exercise? Don’t overwhelm me, please! Otherwise I might just go back to Wotsits and Made in Chelsea on the sofa

Thanks x

Reply privatelyReply in forumReply +quote

By (user no longer on site)
over a year ago

Coach to 5k NHS APP . Worked a treat here plus lots of googling and pestering running friends for advice. Also.. join teamonkeys thread Forum crap runners.

over a year ago

Great, thanks!

over a year ago

Good for you.

Start small but dream big.

I talk complete tosh in most instances but I’ve 100% been for my first run since lockdown summer tonight and I feel fucking Olympic

I only managed 2.5 miles and was breathing like an old steam train in full motion when I got home but man it really did feel ace.

It’s really washed some demons outta my head.

Now I’m rambling but you get the gist.

Just do it.

over a year ago

I’ll assume it’s ‘couch’, although it could be tempting to hop on a coach when I’m a crumpled, sweating heap

over a year ago