Login here

Back to forum list
Back to The Lounge

Do you haggle

Jump to newest

By *usman 199 OP   Man
over a year ago

Stockport

Morning all love to haggle if you think you are in with a chance . When buying cars is always a favourite of mine. Are you a haggler

Reply privatelyReply in forumReply +quote

By (user no longer on site)
over a year ago

Last time we bought a car, yes! I used a little bit of flirty charm

I'm not usually a haggler though, I like to just find something I like, buy it and leave.

By *ily WhiteWoman
over a year ago

?

Definitely with larger purchases...I work in sales so I'm fully aware of how much margin there is to play with. Also that timing and market conditions can increase your chances of getting a better discount

over a year ago

I always ask if there’s any wiggle room on the price and gauge their reaction. If it’s clear they’re not willing to budge I just accept it

By *azzuMan
over a year ago

belfast

My dad is handy and anytime he buys materials or things for him to mess about with on retirement he's always haggling, loves it even just a few quid off something on gumtree

I'm not as brash as him but I do enjoy it a bit more these days. Favourite haggling spree was at the Bangkok markets in Thailand. Spent half the day trying to get cheap knockdown goods at rock bottom prices once I realised the stalk owners could be pushed as in their eyes they were robbing tourists already so would knock quite a bit off for a sale and still get a profit. Spent ages getting a guy down 10000 bhat for handbag and it equated to about a 5er once I worked it out later. Great fun tho

over a year ago

oh yes the car i have now took me three days of haggling it was a few days before the first lockdown so i got a very nice price on it in the end, cash is still king.

By *ealitybitesMan
over a year ago

Belfast

I'm a Marvelous Hagler

By *usman 199 OP   Man
over a year ago

Stockport