Login here

Back to forum list
Back to The Lounge

Should I persevere or give up?

Jump to newest

By *orthern Stars OP   Couple
over a year ago

A town near you perhaps

I joined a beginners running club 3 weeks ago and I am struggling to run 3 minutes walk a minute for 10 times. I just can't seem to get my breathing right. I have been doing bootcamps and PT sessions for 5 months so I'm not totally unfit but just can't seem to get this running malarkey. I'm meant to be going tonight but I have to run a mile and I think I will fail. So I'm thinking I should just loose face, swallow my pride and drop out of running club and go to an exercise class another night instead.

Thoughts anyone?

Mrs

Reply privatelyReply in forumReply +quote

By *edangel_2013Woman
over a year ago

southend

Go to running club. It isn't easy. People think that running comes natural it doesn't.

Stick with it. I still sound like a constipated seal when I run, and I've been doing it on and off for around 8 years.

Look at different running styles, zone running where you run with your heart rate in certain zones, jeffing. Just have a look around.

Your running club should be helping you with this, if they aren't find another one that is supportive of new runners.

By (user no longer on site)
over a year ago

Three weeks doesn't seem that long if you're not used to running so maybe give it longer ? Couch to 5k is a 9 week course for example.

But equally not all exercise suits everyone and it's important to find something you enjoy.

over a year ago

A town near you perhaps

"Go to running club. It isn't easy. People think that running comes natural it doesn't.

Stick with it. I still sound like a constipated seal when I run, and I've been doing it on and off for around 8 years.

Look at different running styles, zone running where you run with your heart rate in certain zones, jeffing. Just have a look around.