Login here

Back to forum list
Back to The Lounge

Would you take a job with a big paycut

Jump to newest

By *ools and the brain OP   Couple
over a year ago

couple, us we him her.

I've been offered a job quite a big paycut.

It's quite a complicated situation that I'm in I don't want to go into too much personal stuff.

But it's a secure position with reasonable long term benefits.

If I stay put money stays the same but far more stress and travel.

Reply privatelyReply in forumReply +quote

By *stellaWoman
over a year ago

London

Will the job be fulfilling and make you happy? Assuming the money is ‘enough’ to get by on. That’s my criteria.

By *stellaWoman
over a year ago

London

Congrats for the offer btw.

By (user no longer on site)
over a year ago

20 years ago I took a massive pay cut to do things I like for a living. In hindsight I see it as the point I started actually, truly, living.

I say go with your gut, you know what's best for you. Life isn't about money.

By *acey_RedWoman
over a year ago

Liverpool

Depends if ai could afford to live on it. Personally I couldn't afford a paycut. One of my partners though is hoping to get a new job he has applied for where he will take a paycut but he can afford it and he's really stressed and miserable in his current job so it's totally worth it.

By *andsome HandMan
over a year ago

roundabout

"Will the job be fulfilling and make you happy? Assuming the money is ‘enough’ to get by on. That’s my criteria."

I was going to ask pretty much this OP

By *drian HardthrobMan
over a year ago

Worcester

If you're current job is starting to affect your mental health I'd say a pay cut would be well worth it

By *adyJayneWoman
over a year ago

Burnleyish (She/They)

I took quite a big paycut last year. I moved to a different company and it was the best thing for my mental health. It's made finances a bit tighter but not impossible.

By *ealitybitesMan
over a year ago

Belfast