Login here

Back to forum list
Back to The Lounge

Catasrophisers

Jump to newest

By *opsy Rogers OP   Woman
over a year ago

London

I work alongside one and I need to know how to deal with it.

I'm fairly new to this office (not the company) and there's only the two of us.

At first I thought it was a reaction to the huge stress we were under but no, every bloody thing is catastophised and despite my reassurance that whatever is happening is out of our control and all we have to do is wait, they get worked up into a real state and I'm struggling to ignore it now.

Any strategies you like to share?

Reply privatelyReply in forumReply +quote

By *a LunaWoman
over a year ago

South

are they aware they do it? It can be a sign of a mental health issue? Are they being treated for it?

By *a LunaWoman
over a year ago

South

Depends on your relationship. Can you have a quiet word with them (or a superior) and mention your concerns. Ask them if they are aware they are doing it.

They may not realise as nobody has mentioned it, or they just can’t stop them self from doing it, in which case they should really seek professional help from a Dr or some such.

By (user no longer on site)
over a year ago

I have a family member like that. It wears me down sometimes as I'm quite a positive person. I'd love to hear any solutions also. At the moment I just walk away but would love to help them cope better.

By *uke olovingmanMan
over a year ago

Gravesend

You're doomed

over a year ago

"I work alongside one and I need to know how to deal with it.

I'm fairly new to this office (not the company) and there's only the two of us.

At first I thought it was a reaction to the huge stress we were under but no, every bloody thing is catastophised and despite my reassurance that whatever is happening is out of our control and all we have to do is wait, they get worked up into a real state and I'm struggling to ignore it now.

Any strategies you like to share?

"

Advice: Clive Dunn.