Already registered?
Login here

Back to forum list
Back to The Lounge

Tax Man

Jump to newest

By (user no longer on site) OP   
over a year ago

Do you think it is morally wrong to pay contractors cash in hand to make the work they do cheaper for you?

Part way through our ten years of Austerity measures and all the cuts being made it is something I would have to consider....

What about you?

Reply privatelyReply in forumReply +quote

By (user no longer on site)
over a year ago

I'm a builder and agree with you totally

By *ranny-CrumpetWoman
over a year ago

King's Crustacean

Paying anyone in cash is not morally wrong.

People not paying their taxes is not morally wrong.

People not paying their taxes is wrong according to those that do and that's the majority of society. It's not pulling your weight. It's not acting fairly.

Some are just greedy but some small firms will go to the wall, especially when they lose ways of eeking out their meagre earnings.

These men/women will have to go on to benefits. It's going to cost the government one HELL of a lot more than tax avoidance. Which incidentally those with astronomically high salaries, or landowners or anyone with the right networks just see paying as little tax as possible as common sense and they help each other to pay as little tax as possible.

Let's just go for the builder, the brickie the hairdressing salon though .... and demonise them. No one suspects the man in the pintstripe. Even this morning it's tradesmen tradesmen tradesmen.

over a year ago

These men/women will have to go on to benefits.

Benefits? what benefits these are being hammered for the wrong reasons and affecting the wrong people.

over a year ago

We get hammered off the government but can I put it another way if I don't get paid off a job for three/ four weeks is it wrong to do a cash job to buy clothes and food for my child and pay my bills

over a year ago